I want to make sure I understand the rules for the different ranges.
Here's my understanding: If I make only a single attack in a round, and my enemy makes only a single attack in a round, we are still considered to be in onset range. I could also stay in onset range by making two attacks with two dice each. So could my opponent. So we could potentially make four attacks between the two of us and still maintain onset range. If any counterattacks take place, or if one of us attacks a second time with only one die, we enter melee range automatically. Entering melee range this way doesn't "cost" anything other than making the attack. Does that all sound right so far?
Questions:
I could make a one-die attack, which puts me in melee range, then pay another die to go back to onset if I wished. Would this provoke an AoO?
The books says the first attack in a fight is almost always in the onset range. So are there exceptions to this rule?
Is there any way to enter melee range without making an attack? Say by paying one MP die. If I did that, would I provoke an AoO?
Can I enter grapple range straight from onset range? Or do I have to enter melee range first?