Reach

Everything to do with the Codex Rules, a FAQ, New Rules, Explanations of concepts etc.

Reach

Postby drkguy3107 » Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:28 pm

Does attacking with a reach weapon count as onset? I mean do you only get 1 attack per round, otherwise you move in? If you move in are you at onset, and can you attack with the weapon at onset?
http://www.myarmoury.com ~ The most enlightening community on the web.
drkguy3107
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:17 am

Re: Reach

Postby Galloglaich » Mon Jun 13, 2011 8:50 pm

not certain I understand your question compltely but

You move to melee if you do a second attack, unless you did two 2 dice attacks (maintaining range). Of course after you move to melee, you can spend another dice to move back to onset.

G.
Galloglaich
 
Posts: 1987
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: Reach

Postby drkguy3107 » Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:04 pm

I understand that, but does that apply to reach weapons. Technically were not at onset, were at extra-onset. So how does combat at reach work? If I have a pike, and I stab at someone twice, do I move to onset? If so can I even attack at onset.
http://www.myarmoury.com ~ The most enlightening community on the web.
drkguy3107
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:17 am

Re: Reach

Postby Galloglaich » Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:47 pm

Ah I understand now. No I would say with a "reach" weapon you can remain at onset unless someone moves to you. Maybe that should require an AoO though... have to think about that a bit.

G.
Galloglaich
 
Posts: 1987
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: Reach

Postby drkguy3107 » Thu Jun 16, 2011 5:13 pm

I think that reach should work like melee, where you can attack as much as you want without changing range. Like, stab, stab, stab. Moving into onset against a reach opponent should provoke an AoO. Also, can you attack someone at onset with a reach weapon or not? I'm thinking not.
http://www.myarmoury.com ~ The most enlightening community on the web.
drkguy3107
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:17 am

Re: Reach

Postby Galloglaich » Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:49 pm

I think the default SRD rules say you can. It really depends on how long your reach weapon is. With a 18' pike or lance, I'd say no you can't, with an 8' glaive or even a 9' spear I think yeah you can.

Maybe a 'reach' weapon should just be banned from fighting in melee range...?

G.
Galloglaich
 
Posts: 1987
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: Reach

Postby drkguy3107 » Fri Jun 17, 2011 12:03 am

Um, I think the srd says you can't, unless its a special weapon. Also, what qualifies as a reach weapon in the codex, how long does the reach bonus have to be for it to be a reach weapon?
http://www.myarmoury.com ~ The most enlightening community on the web.
drkguy3107
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:17 am

Re: Reach

Postby Galloglaich » Sun Jun 19, 2011 5:20 am

I know what the SRD says but I'm not sure I agree with it.

When I was making the weapons I assumed that anything over 9' long was a reach weapon, though it kind of depends on the individual weapon. A 9' weapon can certainly threaten someone between 5' and 10' away. The problem with reach weapons is that they range widely from a 10' spear to a 12' lance or pike to an 18' lance or pike. An 18' spear of any kind will be damn difficult if not impossible to use at 'melee' range, but a 10' spear most certainly can be, if you know what you are doing.

G.
Galloglaich
 
Posts: 1987
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: Reach

Postby drkguy3107 » Sun Jun 19, 2011 6:23 am

well, I pike would grant more than a 10' reach, more like 20'.
http://www.myarmoury.com ~ The most enlightening community on the web.
drkguy3107
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:17 am

Re: Reach

Postby Galloglaich » Sun Jun 19, 2011 6:36 am

yes, which opens up another can of worms
Galloglaich
 
Posts: 1987
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 5:30 pm

Next

Return to Codex Martialis Rules

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest